Brooks Arcand-Paul

Alexander First Nation – Alberta

Brooks Arcand-Paul (sîpîysis) kipohtakâwînaw kiya, is a member of Alexander First Nation which adhered to Treaty 6 by Brooks’ nitâniskocâpân, catchistahwayskum. Brooks was called to the bar in June of 2017 by the Law Society of Upper Canada (Ontario), and has since been called to the Alberta Bar.

Brooks comes to Eagle Law after articling with the Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) of Ontario, at the Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation. Prior to that Brooks spent a summer with the litigation branch of MAG at the Crown Law Office – Civil.

Brooks is specializing in Aboriginal law, with focus in corporate and commercial law. Other areas of Brooks’ practice include treaty and land claims, governance, consultation, accommodation, specific claims, environment, negotiation and litigation.

Brooks achieved his Juris Doctor from the University of Ottawa with special accreditation in Aboriginal law and Indigenous Legal Traditions, and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science at the University of Alberta.

While at the University of Ottawa, Brooks participated in numerous internships and advocacy groups; the former includes the Specific Claims Tribunal and the House of Commons, and the latter includes the Indigenous Law Student Association (including the formation of the National Indigenous Law Students Association) and the Kawaskimhon Moot 2015 hosted by the University of New Brunswick.

Brooks has a profound interest in volunteering his time to causes that he finds important for the advancement of Indigenous communities and peoples across Turtle Island, which is why he became involved with the Indigenous Bar Association (IBA) in law school as a Student Representative. He currently sits as an Executive Director on the Board of Directors.

Aside from volunteering, Brooks uses his spare time to travel, appreciate art, spend time with his family and work on speaking his language, nehiyawewin. In 2016, Brooks received an Aboriginal Role Model of Alberta award in the youth category.